Canonizing Women Writers: The Cervantes Prize

Eugene Lang College Lib Arts: Literary Studies

Liberal Arts

Undergraduate Course

Degree Students

Cervantes Prize Winners

Fall 2022

Taught By: Juan Decastro

Section: A

CRN: 14279

Credits: 4

Given for a writer's lifetime achievement, The Miguel de Cervantes Prize is the most important award that a Spanish-language writer can receive. Established in 1976, it has been granted to such major literary figures as Gabriel García Márquez, Octavio Paz, and Mario Vargas Llosa, all later Nobel Prize winners. This course studies the works and careers of the seven women authors who have received this award: the Spanish essayist María Zambrano (1988), Cuban poet Dulce María Loynaz (1992), the Spanish novelist and short story writer Ana María Matute (2010), the Mexican novelist Elena Poniatowska (2013), the Uruguayan poet Vida Vitale (2017), and the also Uruguayan novelist Cristina Peri Rossi (2021). In addition to representing a cross section of the modern Hispanic literary tradition, encompassing poets, novelists, and essayists, as well as writers from Spain, Mexico and the Southern Cone, the authors studied in the course raise questions about the patriarchal biases present in the Hispanic and other cultural establishments, as well as about what makes a writer canonical.

After the first week of the semester, permission of the instructor will be required in order to register for this course.

College: Eugene Lang College Lib Arts (LC)

Department: Literary Studies (LLST)

Campus: New York City (GV)

Course Format: Seminar (R)

Modality: In-Person

Max Enrollment: 18

Add/Drop Deadline: September 12, 2022 (Monday)

Online Withdrawal Deadline: November 20, 2022 (Sunday)

Seats Available: Yes

Status: Closed*

* Status information is updated every few minutes. The status of this course may have changed since the last update. Open seats may have restrictions that will prevent some students from registering. Updated: 6:02am 10/2/2022 EDT

Meeting Info:

Days: Tuesday, Thursday

Times: 12:00pm - 1:40pm

Building: Johnson/Kaplan 66 West 12th

Room: 502

Date Range: 8/30/2022 - 12/15/2022